Corporate Police block Digg

May 16, 2008

MERRY FRAK’IN CHRISTMAS!! I came back from JavaOne Conference in San Francisco to the cold hearted world of big corporation mentality. Digg is dead! The corporate police have blocked the site tagging it as a social/dating site. Great now I guess I have to get some real work done (read with an Eyeore voice).

I wish I could make a valid argument to access the site; but truth be told, the site is mostly a waste of time from a company perspective. I do get an indirect benefit of a temporary distraction to relax. But, I am not getting paid to relax. Am I?

I guess I am just a little disappointed. Our company is becoming more and more aggressive about access to external web sites. Not sure how much longer until WordPress is blocked as well.

Update:

The world is better. I can now safely access Digg from the comfort of my home: work. The network admin/gods were kind and changed it back. Or, perhaps they went postal and killed all of the security guys. I really don’t care as long as I can live with Digg again.

Leave a Reply

